Compilation failed

Hi,

I’m a beginner in C++, so my doubt may seem basic, but I’m struggling to solve this problem.

I’m trying to compile the example simple-real-number.cpp by myself using g++ simple-real-number.cpp command, but I get the following error:

src/pke/examples/simple-real-numbers.cpp:38:10: fatal error: openfhe.h: No such file or directory
 #include "openfhe.h"
          ^~~~~~~~~~~
compilation terminated.

Why the compilation is not finding the header file? Is this an installation problem, or something else? Can someone help me?

Hello:

Please read the CMake build instructions located here:

https://openfhe-development.readthedocs.io/en/latest/sphinx_rsts/intro/installation/cmake_in_openfhe.html

To be more concise, there is no need to invoke g++ directly. Here are the steps that you might use in a terminal under Linux to build the library, and the example you are interested in:

clone the openfhe repository
cd into the repository’s local copy directory
mkdir build
cd build
cmake [any cmake options you want] ..
make -j

Without any cmake options, the example you are interested in is built by default. The binary can be found in:

[repo local copy]/build/bin/examples/simple-real-numbers

You can modify the code in-tree, and re-run make -j in the build directory if you make changes.

I hope this gets you past your issue. If not, please feel free to continue this thread with any questions.

Jack Bates
Duality

2 Likes

Thanks a lot!

I could modify the file and re-run make-j to recompile the example!

Glad to hear it!

Let us know if you have any other issues.

Jack Bates
Duality

Hi,

Same here, I’m a beginner in C++. I’m on Windows 10, and followed the installation guide. Everything went smoothly, until the make command, where I get the following error:

# make
[  0%] Built target third-party
Consolidate compiler generated dependencies of target coreobj