Open FHE Building Error in Windows 10

Hi there,

I’m new to C++, so I blindly followed the installation guidelines for Windows 10.

Up to calling cmake .. everything went smoothly (although a few tests failed, such as

-- Performing Test HAVE_GNU_POSIX_REGEX -- failed to compile

but it doesn’t end with an error.)

However, while building the library, the compiler is throwing a lot of warnings, such as

C:/msys64/home/Zybeline/openfhe-development/src/core/include/math/distributiongenerator.h: In static member function 'static lbcrypto::PRNG& lbcrypto::PseudoRandomNumberGenerator::GetPRNG()':
C:/msys64/home/Zybeline/openfhe-development/src/core/include/math/distributiongenerator.h:132:26: warning: pointer 'mem' used after 'void free(void*)' [-Wuse-after-free]
  132 |                 uint32_t counter = reinterpret_cast<long long>(mem);  // NOLINT
      |                          ^~~~~~~
C:/msys64/home/Zybeline/openfhe-development/src/core/include/math/distributiongenerator.h:131:21: note: call to 'void free(void*)' here
  131 |                 free(mem);
      |   

By default, any warning is interpreted as an error, and the build fails. So I disabled that option, and the build went up to 73% where it threw an actual error and failed

C:/msys64/home/Zybeline/openfhe-development/src/binfhe/unittest/UnitTestFunc.cpp: In member function 'virtual void UnitTestFHEWGINX_EvalArbFunc_Test::TestBody()':
C:/msys64/home/Zybeline/openfhe-development/src/binfhe/unittest/UnitTestFunc.cpp:69:19: error: 'uint' was not declared in this scope; did you mean 'usint'?
   69 |         EXPECT_EQ(uint(fp(i, p).ConvertToInt()), result) << failed;
      |                   ^~~~

Any clue why this is happening and how to fix it?

Edit: I tried from a clean install on two separate computers, both running Windows 10, and I get in the same trouble.

1 Like

I would like to add that building the examples works fine, as long as the flag to interpret warning as error is disabled.