OpenFHE Single thread

Hello,

I am trying to use OpenFHE with a single core single thread. I’m studying computer architecture and I want to use this library as an object of study.
I prefer to start with a single thread, where the report of a program like perf will be easier to understand at first.
This is posible?

I try to compile the build with the cmake flag -DWITH_OPENMP=OFF, but i had the same result…

The easiest way is to set OMP_NUM_THREADS=1 before running your binaries (it is a runtime environment variable). The syntax is

export OMP_NUM_THREADS=1

Please see openfhe-development/README.md at main · openfheorg/openfhe-development · GitHub for more details on benchmarking (if this is one of the goals of your study)

2 Likes

@mmazz would be very helpful to us if you could share a short paragraph about your motivation for studying OpenFHE and what you are trying to do with it.

1 Like

Thanks @ypolyakov, but there is a way to directly don’t use OpenMP? I think that with that flag that i comment earlier didn’t work. I want the most direct and clear assembler code.

@Caesar, I’m a Physicist starting a PhD in computer science, in particular computer architecture. With my adviser we choose the main aplication FHE.
We will try to find a particular application (autonomous vehicles for example) that may use FHE to be accelerated by hardware.
So my first step is to study OpenFHE (possible focus in CKKS to start with), how its implemented, how its perform,
where cpu cycles are wasted, where are the possible hot spot to dig in, etc.
For now we only have a vague idea of what we want (I’m new in Architecture and FHE…) but in a near future we may clear a little bit.

1 Like

Yes, you can pass -DWITH_OPENMP=OFF to completely disable OpenMP during compilation.

1 Like

Hi @mmazz, not to do your homework for you, but I will share some insights from >10 years of getting FHE to run efficiently, and with dealing with profiling heavily templated C++ code.