Please give some advice for c++ beginner

Hello, I’m a beginner in C++. Up until now, I’ve only done C++ programming on the Windows operating system using VS (Visual Studio), and I mostly use Python. When using VS, all I needed to do was write the code, and VS took care of the rest, so there are many aspects, including the workings of the compilation process, that I’m not very familiar with.

Currently, I’m facing some confusion in using OpenFHE. I honestly followed the official tutorial to install OpenFHE on Ubuntu 20.04, and the “make testall” command ran successfully. I want to use the OpenFHE library to validate some research ideas, but I’m struggling to run and debug the code as easily as I did in VS.

I installed OpenFHE on Ubuntu 20.04 and opened it using VSCode, but it consistently shows that it cannot open header files. I’ve referred to the VSCode official documentation and some online solutions, tried a few things, but still can’t resolve my issue. I suspect it might be because I lack a general understanding of C++ programming. I’m not sure if make, VSCode, or other compilers need to work together and what configurations I need to make as a user.

I followed the VSCode official tutorial to build and run a HelloWorld project, but for such a complex and comprehensive project like this, I still don’t know where to start.

Additionally, I’ve read the “Building User Applications” section in the official OpenFHE documentation. My understanding is that I can only write code using a text editor and then use build and cmake tools. Can I run and debug code in a graphical interface editor? This would be beneficial for a novice like me to learn, understand, and modify code through the debug mode.

I hope to receive some advice on how to develop on Ubuntu. It would be great if you could provide some learning resources or advice!