Progress of scheme switching

Continuing the discussion from Status of the CKKS <-> DM/CGGI scheme switch:

Hi!
I’m a graduate student studying PL(programming language) and SE(Software Engineering). I’m working on FHE compiler that can help non-experts develop efficient FHE programs.

Currently, I’m interested in scheme switching that I think is very promising in that only the advantages of each scheme can be taken. And I expect a FHE compiler to analyze the input program and perform scheme switching automatically will be needed.

Unfortunately, as you know, scheme switching appears to be still in an immature stage(Pegasus). However, I’m glad to hear that you will soon support it in OpenFHE! May I ask if there is any progress or change of the plan? I’m really looking forward to it!

Or is there any problem I can help you with this project?
I’m a very beginner in this field, so any opinion will be of great help to me.

And thank you for developing such a wonderful library!

Thanks!

Hi , I am curious about your compiler – one big hurdle I see is that for efficiency, almost all applications use SIMD in their schemes (other than the DM family), and the vectors generally are quite large (ringsize/2).

So I would think a vectorizing compiler would be needed, or at the minimum a “library” of vectorized operations.

What would your thoughts be on this?
Dave

We are planning to add the scheme switching capability for CKKS <-> DM/CGGI in the next major version (v1.1). We have a working prototype of it but need to do a lot of SE redesigning/refactoring to properly integrate it into OpenFHE, e.g., normalize binfhe and pke to use the same design. We are starting this major effort now.

1 Like

Hi @dcousins!

Currently, we are in a very early stage, so we have only done research survey and do not have an implementation.