What is the purpose of FindAutomorphismIndex?

I am studying the pke part of OpenFHE and I’m curious to understand the reason for having the FindAutomorphismIndex method.

Automorphisms in RLWE-based FHE schemes are used to rotate slots in a packed ciphertext. Two indices are relevant: the human-readable index and the number-theoretic index (I just made up this name, it might have another name).

• The former is relevant to the users and it refers to the desired rotation in slots. For example, rotating ciphertexts by 1 slot corresponds to a human-readable index of 1.
  • The number-theoretic index is less intuitive. It relates to the action applied on the underlying Galois group that maps X \rightarrow X^i \pmod{\phi_m(X), Q}, with i \in \mathbb{Z}_m^*, is what I call number-theoretic index.

Note that calculating the number-theoretic index varies based on the specific RLWE FHE scheme used.

Note we can also rotate to the left or right, depending on the sign of the human-readable index.

The method FindAutomorphismIndex is used to convert a human-readable index to the corresponding number-theoretic index.

More information on this can be found here, specifically in Appendix C:
Fully Homomorphic Encryption with Polylog Overhead

1 Like

The automorphism index (“number-theoretic index”) is a power of generator (5 in the case of CKKS) that corresponds to the given human-readable rotation index. The generator 5 (in CKKS) produces a cyclic group, i.e., all rotation indices i (both positive and negative) can be uniquely represented as 5^i \bmod 2N, where N is the ring dimension.

In BGV/BFV, we get twice more slots (2 dimensions) and also use -5^i \bmod 2N for the second half.

1 Like